CITY SHORTY – DUESSELDORF.

KEYFACTS.

Duesseldorf at a glance

Duesseldorf: Development of monetary turnover.

A turnover of about EUR 5.8 billion (asset deals) was generated in 2021. To provide context: While this might be 12 % less than in the record year 2019, the result is still 31 % higher than the ten-year average. The largest increase in turnover was recorded for undeveloped land. The market volume of around EUR 400 million contracted in this sector represents a rapid growth of around 190 % compared to the previous year.

Parallel to turnover development, we also saw the number of purchases rise in 2021. While 4,396 purchases had been registered in 2020, this number rose by 4.8 % in a year-on-year comparison to 4,609 deeds.

The space turnover of approx. 277 ha was about 91 % higher than in the previous year (2020: approx. 145 ha). As a result, the most recent market volume is

Regional office market Duesseldorf: Development of office take-up, supply reserve and prime rents.

According to analyses of Aengevelt Research, the office space market in and around Düsseldorf (including the surrounding areas and the cities of Erkrath, Hilden, Ratingen, Neuss) generated an office space take-up (including owner- occupiers) of about 325,000 sqm in the reporting year 2021. It was thus about 40,000 sqm or 14 % higher than in the previous year (2020: 285,000 sqm), but around 16 % or 62,000 sqm lower than the long-term take-up average (Ø 2011 - 2020: 387,000 sqm per year).

Both the prime rents and average rents have shifted sideways. The weighted prime rent had reached around EUR 28.50/m² by the end of 2019. This level has been maintained since then.

In the course of 2021, the vacancy reduction of the past years came to an end in the Düsseldorf region. The total supply reserve available on the short term rose by 70,000 sqm when compared to the previous year and amounted to about 670,000 sqm at the end of 2021. Vacancy rates for the entire office space market in the region (including surrounding areas) therefore rose from 6.4 % at the end of 2020 to currently 7.2 % in 2021.

Duesseldorf: Turnover development of the market for residential property.

The low interest rate level still stimulated increased home ownership during 2021, especially in higher-income circles of the population. The performance on the property market for private homes (detached single-family homes, semi-detached houses and terraced houses) and freehold flats has been strong since 2009. The EUR 1 billion turnover mark was exceeded for the eleventh time in a row in 2021. The transaction volume of EUR 1.8 billion constitutes an increase by about EUR 149 million or 8.9 % when compared to the previous year (2020: EUR 1.7 billion).

The number of building permits fell again in 2021. While permits for the construction of a total of 3,212 residential units (new construction and rededication and refurbishment, excluding non-residential buildings) had been granted in 2020, the number of building permits fell to about 2,301 residential units in the reporting year 2021 and fell about 17,0 % short of the average of the most recent decade (Ø 2011 - 2020: 2,772).

The asking rent in Düsseldorf continued to rise sharply in the course of 2021 (+ 6.1 % year-on year) with a current average of EUR 14.00/sqm per month for new flats (upmarket fittings, 60-80 sqm living space). Within the past five years, rents in this segment rose by about 25 % (2021: EUR 14.00/sqm, 2017: EUR 11.17/sqm). Due to the low level of new construction and the long-term positive population trend, average rents are expected to rise further.

CONTACT.

Mark Aengevelt

Managing Partner

CITY SHORTY – DÜSSELDORF.

KEYFACTS.

Düsseldorf auf einen Blick

Düsseldorf: Grundstücksmarkt Entwicklung der Geldumsätze.

2021 wurde ein Geldumsatz (Asset-Deals) von rd. EUR 5,8 Mrd. registriert. Zur Einordnung: Das sind zwar rd. 12 % weniger als im Rekordjahr 2019, allerdings rund 31 % mehr als das Zehnjahresmittel. Die größte Umsatzsteigerung konnte im Bereich der unbebauten Grundstücke verzeichnet werden. Das hier kontrahierte Marktvolumen von rd. EUR 400 Mio. bedeutet einen rasanten Zuwachs von rd. 190 % zum Vorjahr.

Analog zur Umsatzentwicklung stieg im Berichtsjahr 2021 auch die Anzahl der Kauffälle. Wurden im Vorjahr 2020 insgesamt 4.396 Kauffälle erfasst, wuchs die Fallzahl binnen Jahresfrist um 4,8 % auf 4.609 Beurkundungen.

Der Flächenumsatz von rd. 277 ha fiel im Vergleich zum Vorjahr (2020: ca. 145 ha) um rd. 91 % höher aus.

Büromarktregion Düsseldorf: Entwicklung von Flächenumsatz, Angebotsreserve und Spitzenmiete.

Der Büromarkt der Region Düsseldorf (inkl. Umland mit den Städten Erkrath, Hilden, Ratingen, Neuss) erzielte im Berichtsjahr 2021 einen Büroflächenumsatz (inkl. Eigennutzer) von rd. 325.000 m². Er lag damit rd. 40.000 m² bzw. 14 % über dem Vorjahresergebnis (2020: 285.000 m²), jedoch rd. 16 % bzw. 62.000 m² unterhalb des langjährigen Umsatzmittels (Ø 2011 - 2020: 387.000 m² p. a.). 

Sowohl die Spitzenmiete als auch die Durchschnittsmieten sind in eine Seitwärtsbewegung eingetreten. Die gewichtete Spitzenmiete hatte zum Jahresende 2019 rd. EUR 28,50/m² erreicht. Dieses Niveau konnte seitdem gehalten werden.

Im Jahresverlauf 2021 kam es in der Region Düsseldorf zum Ende der Leerstandsreduzierung der vergangenen Jahre. Die kurzfristig insgesamt verfügbare Angebotsreserve stieg gegenüber dem Vorjahr um rd. 70.000 m² an und lag Ende 2021 bei ca. 670.000 m². Die Leerstandsquote für die gesamte Büromarktregion (einschl. Umland) stieg somit von 6,4 % Ende 2020 binnen Jahresfrist 2021 auf aktuell 7,2 %.

Düsseldorf: Umsatzentwicklung auf dem Markt für Wohnimmobilien.

Das niedrige Zinsniveau hatte während des Jahres 2021 noch die verstärkte Wohneigentumsbildung vor allem in einkommensstärkeren Kreisen der Bevölkerung stimuliert. Auf dem Immobilienmarkt für Eigenheime und Eigentumswohnungen hielt der seit 2009 zu beobachtende Höhenflug an: Die 1-Mrd.-Euro-Umsatzmarke konnte 2021 zum elften Mal in Folge überschritten werden. Das Transaktionsvolumen in Höhe von EUR 1,8 Mrd. stellte zudem eine Steigerung gegenüber dem Vorjahr um rd. EUR 149 Mio. bzw. rd. 8,9 % (2020: EUR 1,7 Mrd.) dar.

Die Zahl der Baugenehmigungen ist im Jahr 2021 erneut gesunken. Während im Jahr 2020 insgesamt Genehmigungen für den Bau von 3.212 Wohnungen erteilt wurden, sank die Anzahl der Genehmigungen im Berichtsjahr 2021 auf rd. 2.301 Wohneinheiten und lag somit rd. 17,0 % unter dem Mittel der jüngsten Dekade (Ø 2011 - 2020: 2.772).  Auch die Zahl der genehmigten Neubauwohnungen in Mehrfamilienhäusern sank 2021 im Jahresvergleich um rd. 28 % (2021: 1.753 genehmigte Wohnungen, 2020: 2.450 genehmigte Wohnungen).

Die Angebotsmiete in Düsseldorf stieg im Jahresverlauf 2021 weiter kräftig an und bewegt sich aktuell bei durchschnittlich EUR 14,-/m² pro Monat für Neubauwohnungen. Der Mietanstieg im betrachteten Wohnsegment betrug innerhalb der letzten fünf Jahre rd. 25 % (2021: EUR 14,-/m², 2017: EUR 11,17/m²).  Aufgrund der geringen Neubautätigkeit und der langfristig positiven Bevölkerungsentwicklung ist zu erwarten, dass die durchschnittlichen Mietpreise weiterhin ansteigen.

KONTAKT.

Mark Aengevelt

Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter